OVER TAPPING

Image: generative ai + embellishments

I’m fairly confident that I used to be an over tapper/woofer on the apps. I blame it on OCD somewhat though I don’t want to make excuses for myself because it’s definitely a form a harassment; at least, *I* feel harassed when overtapped/overwoofed—looking at you “hairy hung couple.” But I do try and have empathy for people doing it because I do “get” it though I can be pretty quick with a block. I’m honestly surprised I didn’t get blocked more in the past.

For me, the tapping was sometimes late night sexual frustration. Other times it was just a weird boredom muscle memory thing where I’d just not have anything on my mind and would open my phone and click an app and start tapping people before I was even aware what I was doing. Occasionally, it was just that I genuinely forgot I’d tapped someone recently because all guys on the apps kinda look like one of five or so gay guy archetypes or literally an anonymous torso. But I definitely did it.

The interesting thing about going to darkrooms is that it seems to have cured me of the over tapping. In fact, I barely tap any more and there are days when I don’t even really engage much with the apps. I won’t say I don’t engage at all but my overall app use is way down. Like, way down. And I like it. I am, like, the last person I ever thought would say this but it’s better interacting with people IRL. Why tap a torso when you can tap an actual ass bent over a table, amirite? Haha.

Leave a comment

Sappho, spelled (in the dialect spoken by the poet) Psappho, (born c. 610, Lesbos, Greece — died c. 570 BCE). A lyric poet greatly admired in all ages for the beauty of her writing style.

Her language contains elements from Aeolic vernacular and poetic tradition, with traces of epic vocabulary familiar to readers of Homer. She has the ability to judge critically her own ecstasies and grief, and her emotions lose nothing of their force by being recollected in tranquillity.

Designed with WordPress